Surviving and thriving in college with a chronic illness

Standard

This is a useful article for people who are thinking of going to uni. I never finished uni, I had to drop out after a few months because I was too ill (and the brain fog didn’t help!) but things are maybe a bit different now, more help available etc. And nowadays there is also so much you can do online as well.

Chronically courageous

Going to college is a big transition in anyone’s life. It’s a period of changing, gaining independence, and growing up. When you are living with a serious chronic illness, and you experience this transition, it can be more difficult to adjust to and cope with than the average person.

A little over a year ago, I was starting my freshman year of college, and this transition was one hell of a (miserable) trying time. My senior year of high school had pretty much been spent on home instruction, and I was so dependent on my parents for pretty much everything. Needless to say, the day I moved in, I was scared to death, and cried so much leaving my family that I think there are still eyeliner marks on my mom’s shirt.

My freshman year turned out to be one of the best years of my life, and despite the…

View original post 1,804 more words

Leave a Reply

